John M. Patriarche Distinguished Service Award


The distinguished service award is the highest honor the Association bestows.  It honors past members of the Michigan Local Government Management Association who have been members of the Association for a significant number of years.  Those honored have worked consistently and effectively to foster representative democracy by enhancing the effectiveness of local elected officials through innovative programs, projects, and by consistency in providing excellence in character and professionalism.


A person can only be eligible for nomination if he/she has been retired or deceased for at least three years before nomination.  Also, the nominee must have been a member of MLGMA for a significant number of years.


Current Recipient: Kathie S. Grinzinger

Recently-retired Mount Pleasant City Manager Kathie S. Grinzinger was awarded the 2014 John M. Patriarche Distinguished Service Award by the Michigan Local Government Management Association at the Michigan Municipal League's annual convention in Marquette. Grinzinger spent her entire public service career of over thirty years with the City of Mount Pleasant, rising from community development coordinator to assistant city manager to city manager. As city manager, she served the community for over seven years as its top administrative officer. During her career, and in addition to her many professional responsibilities, Grinzinger found time to serve the Michigan Local Government Management Association, including service on the Association's Board of Directors and then as president-elect, president, and past president. In 2012, Grinzinger was recognized for her service to local government with an International City/County Management Association 30-year service award. Currently, Grinzinger serves as lead executive recruiter for the Michigan Municipal League.


Past Recipients:


John M Patriarche - 1992

Edward H. Potthoff, Jr. - 1994

Fred. H. Tholen, Jr. - 1995

Clifford R. Miles - 1997

Robert S. Kenning - 2000

Frank A. Gerstenecker - 2001

William J. Baldridge - 2002

Richard. A Huebler - 2004

Thomas W. Kressbach - 2005

William M. Costick - 2006

Robert Hamilton - 2007

Karl Tomion - 2008

Kurt Kimball - 2009

Theodore Staton - 2010

Mark Wollenweber - 2011
Charles Graham - 2012
Eric DeLong - 2013

Kathie S. Grinzinger - 2014